Review: Finding Paris by Joy Preble

Posted April 10, 2015 by lockhartbecca in Reviews / 0 Comments

Finding Paris

Author: Joy Preble
Series: Standalone
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Genre: YA Contemporary
Format: ebook
Release Date: April 21, 2015
Source: egalley received from publisher via Edelweiss
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Add to Goodreads
Buy the Book
 

***I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way changed my opinion of the book. The review below is my open and honest opinion.***

 

 

Synopsis from Goodreads:

 

An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other–perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble’s stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other’s lives.

 
Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind–going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn’t going anywhere right now, except driving around Vegas all night with her sister.Until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris–a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared? When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold inside.
 

My Review:

 

I originally picked this book up because of the word “sister” in the synopsis. I’ll pretty much pick up anything about sisters, featuring sisters, having characters that are sisters. I just love sister stories. And even though they aren’t together for the whole entire book, I enjoyed the sister relationship in this one. I really appreciated the way that both sisters would do anything for the other and you could tell that they were really close.

 

I also really enjoyed unraveling the mystery behind all of Paris’s clues. This is what really kept me glued to the book, turning the pages so I could find out what the heck was going on with Paris. I enjoyed Leo and Max’s travels around Vegas and other places. I feel like I haven’t read a lot of novels (if any) set in Vegas so the change of scenery was great. There were all your typical Vegas highlights, and maybe that won’t work for some people, but since I’ve never been and never really read about it, it was exciting and new.

 

I also liked Max, the guy helping Leo on her journey. He was cute, sweet and nerdy. I didn’t swoon for him or anything, but I was definitely rooting for him and Leo. I was wondering why he was so ready to help Leo though, literally driving around Vegas all night, not a care in the world. That seemed off to me, and while there is an explanation at the end of the book, I still was kind of iffy on it. But I liked Max so I just kind of went with it.

 

I thought I saw the twist coming, but I was wrong and that surprised me. It was a bit of a heartbreaking book, more so than I thought it would be. And I wasn’t exactly pleased with the way it was resolved. My biggest issue with the resolution was Leo’s mom. I can’t say a lot here without risking spoilers, but I was extremely disappointed with how she handled everything. It was, to be honest, awful and I kind of hated her for it.

 

Everything at the end was tied up, but it was almost too neat for me. Things got resolved and everybody was just fine, but shit happened. And I didn’t feel like everybody should have just been fine and dandy. More things needed to take place before the characters could reach that point. But overall, I enjoyed the story. It probably won’t stick with me, but it was an interesting book that certainly held my attention and offered some surprising twists and depth.

 

Have you read this one yet? What did you think? 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply