Review: Wicked Games by Sean Olin

Posted June 11, 2014 by lockhartbecca in Uncategorized / 4 Comments

Wicked Games

Author: Sean Olin

Series: Wicked Games #1

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Genre: YA Contemporary Thriller

Format: ebook

Release Date: June 10, 2014

Source: egalley received from publisher via Edelweiss

Rating: 4 Stars

Add to Goodreads

Buy the Book

***I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This
has in no way changed my opinion of the book. The review below is my
open and honest opinion.***
 

Synopsis
from Goodreads:
Wicked Games
is the first book in a sexy thriller series where passion, lies, and revenge
collide-perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles and Sara Shepard.

To all the locals in the small beach town of Dream Point, Carter and Lilah seem
like the perfect It Couple-but their relationship is about to brutally unravel
before everyone’s eyes.


Carter has always been a good guy, and while Lilah has a troubled past, she’s
been a loyal girlfriend for the last four years. When smart, sexy Jules enters
the picture at a senior-year bash, Carter succumbs to temptation. And when
Lilah catches wind of his betrayal, she decides that Jules needs to pay.

By the end of the summer, the line between right and wrong will be blurred beyond
recognition. Blood will be shed. Nothing in Dream Point will ever be the same.

This juicy summer read will keep readers turning pages until the shocking,
nail-biting finale.

My
Review:
You know when you’re
watching something really horrible and you really want to look away, but you
just can’t? You can’t force your eyes to move off this horrible train-wreck of
a thing you’re looking at because you’re so completely engrossed and riveted
and you absolutely have to find out how it all turns out? That’s what this book
is like.
I cringed the whole
time reading this book. Not from bad characters or bad writing or anything.
Quite the opposite. The characters were so interesting and the plot line was so
crazy that I couldn’t stop reading. But that’s the thing, it was so crazy and
you just knew that shit was going to hit the fan and then it did, but then the
craziness just continues and it gets even crazier and you’re sitting there with
your jaw on the floor. And just when you think it can’t get any crazier or any
more drama-filled, it does. And before you know it, it’s over and you’re left
gaping and totally wanting more.
I’m not going to say much
more. There are crazy characters, all very well-developed might I add. The plot
is a maze of crazy twists and turns. You will feel complete horror and
disbelief as you watch this story play out, but you will enjoy every single
minute of it because who doesn’t love a crazy, drama filled story? If you’re
looking for something Gossip Girl-esque, look no further. This is the book for
you. If you liked Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Don’t Look Back, this is the book for you. Basically if you like contemporary
thrillers you’ll want to read this book. There wasn’t really a mystery to work
out, but I was continuously surprised with just how far the characters went and
that is what kept me glued to the pages for three straight hours of reading. Be
prepared for a highly entertaining and slightly horrifying read. Happy reading
all! 
Have you read this book? Were as completely and hopelessly riveted as I was? Are you eagerly awaiting more juicy drama and craziness? 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Review: Wicked Games by Sean Olin

  1. OMG, this review!!!! You can't just throw out a Don't Look Back reference like that after that amazing review. Now I don't want to read anything but this! I'm going to have to sneak this one into my schedule soon!

Leave a Reply